HISTORY OF FOOTBALL IN ALASKA

The first football championships were organized by Anchorage (Cook Inlet Conference) in 1983. This was an invitational tournament that was considered the unofficial State Championships. These invitational State Championships continued until 1989. In 1990 ASAA administered the first official Football State Championships. At the time, there were three conferences, Cook Inlet, Railbelt, and Northern Lights. Each conference qualified their top team to the tournament.

As more schools started football programs, a fourth conference called The Greatland Conference was formed in 1997. The top two teams in that conference played each other for an unofficial "Greatland State Championship".

As football grew in popularity it became clear it was not equitable for all teams to compete in the same classification. The ASAA Board reshuffled the conferences creating a Large Schools Division and a Small Schools Division. Schools with enrollments of 850 or less were in the Small Schools Division. In 2000 ASAA held the first Large Schools Championship and Small School Championships.

In 2011, the ASAA board approved the creation of one more division, the Medium Schools division. There are 3 separate Football State Championships held each October.

1983			1987		
Champion:	Dimond	21	Champion:	East Anchorage	41
Runner-up:	Soldotna	0	Runner-up:	North Pole	6
1984			1988		
Champion:	Chugiak	8	Champion:	Chugiak	20
Runner-up:	Lathrop	5	Runner-up:	Soldotna	18
1985			1989		
1985 Champion:	East Anchorage	26	1989 Champion:	Bartlett	14
	East Anchorage Lathrop	26 10		Bartlett West Valley	14 7
Champion:	0	-	Champion:		
Champion: Runner-up:	0	-	Champion:		

ANCHORAGE INVITATIONAL (unofficial state championship)

ASAA STATE CHAMPIONSHIP (from 1990 - 1996)

1990

Champion: East Anchorage Runner-up: Soldotna 3rd Place: Lathrop

1991

Champion: Bartlett Runner-up: Ben Eielson 3rd Place: Soldotna

1992

Champion: Runner-up: 3rd Place: Ben Eielson Soldotna Dimond

1993

Champion:	Dimond
Runner-up:	Ben Eielson
Tied 3 rd :	Chugiak
Tied 3 rd :	East Anchorage
Tied 5 th :	Soldotna
Tied 5 th :	Kenai
Tied 5 th :	Lathrop
Tied 5 th :	Skyview

1994

Champion:	Service
Runner-up:	Chugiak
Tied 3 rd :	Kenai
Tied 3 rd :	Palmer
Tied 5 th :	Dimond
Tied 5 th :	Soldotna
Tied 5 th :	Lathrop
Tied 5 th :	Ben Eielson

GAME SCORES Semi East Anchorage 13 / Lathrop 6 Soldotna / Bye Final East Anchorage 36 / Soldotna 7 GAME SCORES Ben Eielson 32 / Soldotna 30 Semi Bartlett / Bye Bartlett 27 / Ben Eielson 0 Final GAME SCORES Semi Dimond 16 / Soldotna 22 Ben Eielson / Bye Soldotna 9 / Ben Eielson 28 Final **GAME SCORES** Quart Ben Eielson 29 / Skyview 8 Chugiak 20 / Soldotna 13 East Anchorage 20 / Kenai 12 Dimond 21 / Lathrop 14 Dimond 52 / East Anchorage 8 Semi Ben Eielson 19 / Chugiak 17 Final Dimond 20 / Ben Eielson 19 GAME SCORES

Quart Ben Eielson 8 / Service 34 Chugiak 40 / Soldotna 14 Dimond 14 / Kenai 20 Palmer 27 / Lathrop 6 Semi Service 43 / Kenai 0 Palmer 0 / Chugiak 33 Final Service 16 / Chugiak 14

1995

Champion:	Palmer
Runner-up:	Chugiak
Tied 3 rd :	East Anchorage
Tied 3 rd :	Service
Tied 5 th :	Kenai
Tied 5 th :	Colony
Tied 5 th :	Lathrop
Tied 5 th :	Ben Eielson

1996

Champion:	Chugiak
Runner-up:	Palmer
Tied 3 rd :	Kenai
Tied 3 rd :	Service
Tied 5 th :	West Valley
Tied 5 th :	East Anchorage
Tied 5 th :	Skyview
Tied 5 th :	Lathrop

1996 AWARDS

Sportsmanship Award: Palmer Academic Award: Chugiak (3.1)

ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAMS:

OFFENSE Casey Hershberger Kenai Jon Panamaroff Kenai **Dayton Williams** Kenai Buddy Renner Kenai Yohancey Humphrey Chugiak Roger Patterson Chugiak Junior Mamai Chugiak Brandon Buckley Palmer Jared Hann Palmer Jack Wade Palmer Brian Kirby Palmer Jeremiah Richards Palmer Billy Abbott Palmer

GAME SCORES

Quart	Ben Eielson 8 / Palmer 35
	Chugiak 18 / Lathrop 15
	East Anchorage 16 / Kenai 0
	Service 21 / Colony 14
Semi	Service 14 / Chugiak 33
	Palmer 14 / East Anchorage 8

Final Palmer 12 / Chugiak 7

GAME SCORES

Quart	Service 52 / West Valley 20
	Kenai 20 / Lathrop 8
	East Anchorage 18 / Palmer 55
	Chugiak 28 / Skyview 20
Semi	Kenai 20 / Chugiak 27
	Palmer 45 / Service 19
Final	Palmer 19 / Chugiak 24

Nik Heagy	Service
Steve Herzog	Service
Alan Braham	Chugiak
Chuck Halstead	Chugiak
Josh Ray	Chugiak
Yohancey Humphrey	Chugiak
Jon Panamaroff	Kenai
Adrein Brownlee	Palmer
Joe Samuels	Palmer
Jeremiah Richards	Palmer
Brian Kirby	Palmer

<u>KICKER</u>

Joe Parks

Chugiak