CLASS "B" CHAMPIONS

Prior to the present classification system that was instituted by ASAA in 1984, basketball schools were classified by letters. Class A included the largest schools in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Southeast, Kenai Peninsula and Mat-Su Valley. Class B and C schools were in various regions around the state. The following records were contributed by Patrick Callahan, AD in Nome, and Gil Truitt, longtime coach at Mt. Edgecumbe.

1950-51	Nome is Class B Champion of the Western Conference
1952-53	Nome is Class B Champion of the Western Conference
1954-55	Nome is Class B Champion of the Western Conference
1955-56	Nome defeats Cordova for Class B Championship of Western Conference
1957-58	Cordova is the runner up of the Class B Championships
1963-64	Nome defeats Wasilla for Class B Championships (76-55)
	Valdez defeats Glennallen for Class C Championships (69-51)
1964-65	Nome defeats Tinjum for Class Be Championships
	Covenant defeats Valdez fo the Class C Championships
1966-67	Bethel defeats Covenant for Class B Championships (75-71)
1967-68	Cordova is the Class B Champions of the Western Conference
1968-69	Cordova is the Class B Champions of the Western Conference
	Kake is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1969-70	Nome is the Class C Champions of the Western Conference
	Hoonah is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1970-71	Covenant defeats Nome for the Class B Western Championships
	Metlakatla is the Class B Champions of Southeast Conference
1971-72	Covenant defeats Nome for the Class B Western Championships
	Haines is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1972-73	Bristol Bay defeats Covenant for Class B Western Championships (52-42)
	Haines is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1973-74	Kotzebue defeats Nome for Class B Western Championships
	Haines is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1974-75	Nome defeats Kotzebue for Class B Western Championships
	Haines is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1975-76	Nome defeats Covenant for Class B Western Championships
	Skagway is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1976-77	Kotzeue defeats Nome for Class B Western Championships
	Ckagway is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1977-78	Kotzebue defeats Dillingham for Class B Western Championships
	Metlakatla is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1978-79	Mt. Edgecumbe is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1979-80	Bethel defeats Anderson for Class B Western Championships
1000.01	Metlakatla is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1980-81	Noorvik defeats Kotzebue for Class B Western Championships
1001 07	Metlakatla is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1981-82	Bethel defeats Nome for Class B Western Championships
1982-83	Haines is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
1702-03	Noorvik defeats Nome for Class B Western Championships Volutet is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference
	Yakutat is the Class B Champions of the Southeast Conference