2005 ASAA/First National Bank State High School Drama-Debate-Forensics Competition

INDIVIDUAL AWARDS

The following are individuals that placed in the 2005 State High School Drama-Debate-Forensics Championships April 14-16. The names of individual students are followed by their grade in high school and the school that they attend.

DRAMA CATEGORIES

Pantomime

- 1st Paul Morin, 12, and J.R. Cox, 11, Nikiski
- 2nd Jared Lindman, 12, and Andrea Murrow, 9, West Anchorage
- 3rd Matthew Wenger, 11, Whitestone
- 4th Luke Hardee, 11, Whitestone

Solo Acting

- 1st Ben Selvaggio, 10, Whitestone
- 2nd Aneliese Palmer, 9, Chugiak
- 3rd Patrick Ekstrom, 9, Whitestone
- 4th Hannah Winston, 10, Whitestone

Duet Acting

- 1st Katie Fox, 11, and Samuel Gottstein, 11, Service
- 2nd Tatiana Butler, 11, and Josh Ball, 11, Nikiski
- 3rd Jesse Alleva, 12, and Andrea Murrow, 9, West Anchorage
- 4th Thomas Johnson, 12, and David Brescia, 11, Chugiak

Readers' Theatre

- 1st Juneau-Douglas (James Kilcup, 12, Clay Wertheimer, 11, Brenna Heintz, 11)
- 2nd Whitestone (Juan Carlos Giron, 10, Rachel Keller, 10, Luke Hardee, 11, Samuel Woolfolk, 10)
- 3rd Mt. Edgecumbe (Tristan Cannizzaro, 11, Michelle Snyder, 12, Cady O'Brien, 11)
- 4th Service (Mari Rueter, 12, Stuart Raven, 11, Jeffrey Donegan, 12, Kate Diciero, 9)

FORENSIC (SPEECH) CATEGORIES

Extemporaneous Commentary

- 1st Jesse Hughey, 12, Sitka
- 2nd Rita Knorr, 12, Nikiski
- 3rd Emma Aronson, 12, West Anchorage
- 4th Morgan Robinson, 12, West Anchorage

Extemporaneous - Foreign

- 1st Nina Johnson, 12, Chugiak
- 2nd Daniel Gillespie, 11, Service
- 3rd Alex Zinger, Ketchikan
- 4th Karen Boyce, 12, Haines

-more-

2005 State High School DDF Award continued

Extemporaneous – Domestic

- 1st Alex Richert, 11, West Anchorage
- 2nd Shayne Bargman, 11 Chugiak
- 3rd Chandler O'Connell, Sitka
- 4th Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins, 10, Sitka

Original Oration

- 1st Hannah Winston, 10, Whitestone
- 2nd Rachel Keller, 10, Whitestone
- 3rd Laura Rooper, 11, Nikiski
- 4th Gareth Olds, 12, West Anchorage

Dramatic Interpretation

- 1st Audrey Dias, 11, Whitestone
- 2nd Gareth Olds, 12, West Anchorage
- 3rd Matthew Wenger, 11, Whitestone
- 4th Michelle Snyder, 12, Mt. Edgecumbe

Duo Interpretation

- 1st Laura Williams, 12, and Daniel Gillespie, 11, Service
- 2nd Diego Henriquez, 12, and Hilary Seeger, 12, Whitestone
- 3rd David Brescia, 11, and Renee Daw, 11, Chugiak
- 4th Josh Ball, 11, and J.R. Cox, 11, Nikiski

Humorous Interpretation

- 1st Diego Henriquez, 12, Whitestone
- 2nd Hillary Seeger, 12, Whitestone
- 3rd J.R. Cox, 11, Nikiski
- 4th Nicholaus Donaldson, 9, Whitestone

Expository Speaking

- 1st Amelia Josephson, 10, West Anchorage
- 2nd Kathryn Zager, 9, Service
- 3rd Chandler O'Connell, Sitka
- 4th Duncan Ariey, 10, West Anchorage

DEBATE CATEGORIES

Public Forum Debate

- 1st Cara Ekstrom, 12, and Juan Carlos Giron, 10, Whitestone
- 2nd Shayne Bargman, 11, and Matt Smith, 11, Chugiak
- Justin Birchell, 10, and Duncan Ariey, 10, West Anchorage
- 3rd Patrick Ekstrom, 9, and Nicholaus Donaldson, 9, Whitestone
- 4th Adrienne Wilber and Emily Corso, 11, Sitka
- 4th Heather Prentice-Walz, 11, and Brenna Heintz, 11, Juneau-Douglas
- 4th Clay Wertheimer, 11, and James Kilcup, 12, Juneau-Douglas
- 4th Iris Kemp, 10, and Erica Edmond, 11, Haines

-more-

2005 State High School DDF Award continued

Policy (CX) Debate

- 1st Samuel Gottstein, 11, and Daniel Gillespie, 11, Service
- 2nd Laura Rooper, 11, and Paul Morin, 12, Nikiski
- 3rd Emma Aronson, 12, and Morgan Robinson, 12, West Anchorage
- 3rd Alex Richert, 11, and Maia Anderson, 10, West Anchorage
- 4th Anastasia Jurasek, 10, and Mackenzie Broquet, 9, Dimond
- 4th Jessie Bowlin, 10, and Tasha Thompson, 9, Nikiski
- 4th Jennifer Blankenship, 11, and Brianna Tittle, 11, Dimond
- 4th Tatiana Butler, 11, and Erica Thye, 11, Nikiski

Lincoln-Douglas Debate

- 1st Gareth Olds, 12, West Anchorage
- 2nd Nina Johnson, 12, Chugiak
- 3rd Andy Hughes, 12, Chugiak
- 3rd Whitney Cushing, 12, Homer
- 4th Hillary Seeger, 12, Whitestone
- 4th Karl Wichorek, 10, West Anchorage
- 4th Audrey Dias, 11, Whitestone
- 4th James Greenleaf, 11, Whitestone

Additional recognition - Top 10 Speakers in Policy Debate

- 1. Jennifer Blankenship, Dimond
- 2. Daniel Gillespie, Service
- 3. Tatiana Butler, Nikiski
- 4. Sam Gottstein, Service
- 5. Alex richert, West Anchorage
- 6. Paul Morin, Nikiski
- 7. Jessie Bowlin, Nikiski
- 8. Laura Rooper, Nikiski
- 9. Erica Thye, Nikiski
- 10. Emma Aronson, West Anchorage

Additional recognition – Top 10 Speakers in Public Forum Debate

- 1. Nicholaus Donaldson, Whitestone
- 2. Adrienne Wilber, Sitka
- 3. Shayne Bargman, Chugiak
- 4. Cara Eckstrom, Whitestone
- 5. Matt Smith, Chugiak
- 6. Michaela Hernandez, East Anchorage
- 7. Robert Keller, Dimond
- 8. Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins, Sitka
- 9. Ian Hoffbeck, Chugiak
- 10. Justin Birchell, West Anchorage

2005 State High School DDF Award continued

TEAM AWARDS

Note: 1A-2A-3A are classes of schools with 400 or fewer students enrolled; 4A is the class of schools with 401 or more students enrolled)

Sportsmanship Award

1A-2A-3A Homer 4A Sitka

Academic Award

1A-2A-3A Wrangell, 3.72 GPA Team Average 4A Chugiak, 3.77 GPA Team Average

First Place - Drama Team Award

1A-2A-3A Whitestone 4A Service

First Place - Forensics Team Award

1A-2A-3A Whitestone 4A West Anchorage

First Place - Debate Team Award

1A-2A-3A Whitestone 4A West Anchorage

4A - Overall Sweepstakes

1st West Anchorage

2nd Chugiak

1A-2A-3A - Overall Sweepstakes

1st Whitestone 2nd Nikiski